top of page

Agribusiness leaders from across Australasia firmly focused on the future

Updated: Sep 19, 2018

Could disruptive health care, blockchain technology, molecular diagnostics, millennial and gen-Z consumer engagement be the agenda items of an IT summit? Think again. These are just some of the topics being discussed at the annual Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) Conference, taking place in New Zealand next week.

On Monday, over 150 of Australasia’s leading agribusiness professionals will gather in Taupo for the annual PPP Conference, an event tasked with discussing and debating pertinent issues in the agricultural industry, and seeking ways to work together to tackle some of the toughest industry challenges head-on. Agenda topics will include disruptive technology and how to stay ahead of it, future trends, economic food consumption, and mental wellness and resilience. 

PPP founder Chairman and Shane McManaway says the PPP Group, which brings together some of the most influential, innovative and positive agricultural leaders in Australasia, is looking forward to putting forward the challenge to the group to work collectively to stay ahead of the game.

“The agricultural landscape is changing at a rate of knots. We’ve got incredible innovations happening not only in the world around us, but also in our industry. The key is to harness the opportunities and lead the way. Not that long ago, people were encouraged to go into farming if they didn’t have any other options. Now, it’s a progressive, leading-edge industry. The future is exciting.” 

Keynote speakers include medical inventor of digital bio-communication Dr Wei Siang Yu, creative technologist and digital disruption specialist Andrew Plimmer, Rabobank Emerging Leader of the Year and Coles Rising Star Jan Vydra of Australian Fresh Leaf Herbs, and ex All Black and Mental Health Advocate Sir John Kirwan.

The PPP Conference also marks the announcement of the 2018 winner of the Zanda McDonald Award, a prestigious badge of honour that recognises future leaders in Australasia’s agribusiness industry. Finalists Lisa Kendall, 25, Thomas Macdonald, 24, and Janet Reddan, 33, all compete for the title, with the winner taking home a prize package worth $50,000.


bottom of page